Wow! Who knew?

Who knew writing a novel could be so much fun? Who knew it could be kind of scary and overwhelming at the same time?

I’ve wanted to write a book for as long as I can remember. Reading and writing is charged with conflicting emotions for me. When I was teaching fourth grade, I’d always tell my students that a good book should play in your mind like a movie as you read. The descriptions of the characters and the setting should become real to you as you read about them. It is easy to say, but actually making it happen is the trick, isn’t it?

Teaching kids to write was hard. Grading their writing was even harder! It was like my pen was slashing away at something they had created! Oh how I tried to be gentle! And it is so incredibly subjective. We don’t all like to read the same things. Some people will love my book (thank God they’ve told me already!) and some people will likely hate it.

If you’ve stumbled upon my blog you probably like to read. Or maybe you like to write. So, I’m inviting you on this journey with me. If you’ve ever wanted to write a book, I’d love to hear from you! If you’ve ever lived overseas (the subject of my novel), I’d love to hear about your experiences.

Most of all, I’m glad you are coming along for the ride. What an amazing experience.

2 thoughts on “Wow! Who knew?

Leave a Reply

