Fisher House: How much do you know?

In my novel, This She’ll Defend, Carmen’s family visits a friend at the Army hospital in Landstuhl. The young soldier’s family is able to stay in a comfortable location within walking distance of their son: Fisher House.  I wanted to highlight Fisher House in the story line, because it is such an amazing organization for soldiers and their families. As a pediatric nurse, I have seen first hand how The Ronald McDonald House serves families who have children hospitalized in cities where they have no place to stay. Fisher House serves military families in a similar way. But when researching the book, I found out that Fisher House does even more than I knew about! They have scholarships for military children and other programs aimed to served military families.

On a personal note, my own family visited a friend at Landstuhl while we lived in Germany. He was sent there, and his wife came over from the states and stayed in Fisher House. I saw first hand what a valuable service was provided for this young Army wife. When I started writing the novel, I knew right away that I wanted to somehow bring Fisher House into the action.

I encourage you to take a moment and click the link to the Fact Sheet. I pulled it from their official web site so it should be current information. It is my personal belief that we all have an obligation to support our military families. This is one organization that is doing so in a big way. Thanks Fisher House!

 

 

FISH_OnePageFactSheet

Leave a Reply

