Why is it so difficult to choose a title??!

Honestly, I don’t think I spent as much time worrying about what to name my two kids as I do trying to decide on a title for a book that I’ve written. It is so difficult to find a short way to convey the “heart” of a novel. It has to be something that draws reader’s attention and makes them want to find out more. It has to be easy to spell and remember–or else no one can recommend your book to their friends! Sometimes, most difficult of all–it has to be something that hasn’t already been used by another author. It’s not like I can just call my next novel To Kill a Mockingbird or Farewell to Arms. Yeah, they are amazing titles, but someone beat me to the punch by quite a few years!

I’d love to know how other authors go about choosing a title. I’ve tried it all, believe me. I’ve made lists and asked friends, written down key points and characters names in different combinations. I’ve looked up quotes related to the time period. It is just so hard to find a title that makes me say, “That’s it!”

As a reader, how important is the title to you? Do you discount books altogether if the title puts you off?

Feedback would be greatly appreciated! Thanks in advance.

Leave a Reply

