What was your biggest reading disappointment?

GWTWHattie

In two weeks, the much anticipated novel Go Set a Watchman will be released. I have my copy on pre-order, as do many other fans of Harper Lee’s only other published novel, To Kill a Mockingbird. I hope I love it. I desperately want to love it. But the last time I allowed my hopes to get this high, I was sorely disappointed.

As an avid fan of Gone With the Wind, I enjoyed the novel Rhett Butler’s People by Daniel McCaig. I’ve never been a real fan of Scarlet, so reading more from Rhett’s perspective was an enjoyable experience. When I heard that McCaig was writing a novel from Mammy’s perspective, I was ecstatic! I pre-ordered a copy of Ruth’s Journey, and drooled over the cover image. I got the hardcover book, but didn’t want to spoil it, so I ordered the Kindle version too. But try as I might, I just could not get into the book. Mammy is my all time favorite character from GWTW, so why wouldn’t I love her book?

Sometimes, there no real explanation for why a book just doesn’t “click” with a reader. But there is no denying that this phenomena happens to even the most avid readers. I’m throwing out this question because I genuinely would like to hear back from you about this. What was your biggest reading disappointment?

Leave a Reply

